Acknowledgment of Country

We acknowledge the Gadigal as the Traditional Owners of the land on which Barangaroo sits today. We recognise their continuing connection to land, waters and culture. We pay our respects to their Elders past, present and emerging.

Registrations of Interest are now closed

Harbour Park Design Competition

At the heart of Central Barangaroo, will be Harbour Park, a 1.85 hectare public space on Sydney’s foreshore. The NSW Government is inviting teams from around Australia and beyond to prepare a design that responds to our vision for the park. This is an exciting and rare opportunity to design a public space that sits on Sydney’s famous harbour edge and will be part of a foreshore that includes icons such as Sydney Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House.

In our modern world of city landscapes of redeveloped and ever-changing private spaces, the key component that remains at the heart of the city’s function and beauty is the importance of our public spaces
– The Hon. Paul Keating, former Prime Minister of Australia and Design Jury Chair

Our Vision

Harbour Park is set to be an iconic waterfront destination that reflects global best practice for public domain, and embodies our vision for Barangaroo:

Place for Sydney
Destination for all
Reference for the world


To be eligible to compete, a prospective Competitor must satisfy BOTH of the following:

  1. Nominate a Lead Designer that has been registered as a business in Australia with an ABN for no less than ten years; and,
  2. Include within the Competitor team a registered Landscape Architect.

The Jury

The competition jury comprises leading figures from the Australian and international design community. They are looking for design ideas that embrace Barangaroo’s commitment to design excellence, world-class public spaces and sustainability.


  • Registration of Interest open

    5 December 2022

  • Expressions of Interest open

    17 January 2023

  • Registration of Interest close

    9 February 2023

  • Expressions of Interest close

    16 February 2023

  • Shortlisted parties announced

    20 March 2023

  • Winner announced

    Mid 2023